Governor Rick Scott indicated via Twitter on Monday that he would sign into law new legislation to streamline the regulation of hire-for-ride companies like Uber and Lyft. Florida House Bill 221 would require drivers are insured up to levels of $50,000 for death and injury per person, $100,000 for death and injury per accident and $25,000 for property damage. It also requires background checks for drivers.
This would eliminate some of the concerns from critics in the taxicab and limousine industry who have fought against Uber and Lyft in cities around the state and country. However, in exchange for these uniformed regulations, local governments will no longer be allowed to impose their own additional regulations and fees upon Uber and Lyft drivers or limit their access. In Orlando, a $250 registration fee is applied to drivers and they are restricted from access to certain locations, like the Orlando International Airport (currently only Uber Black drivers, a more expensive service have access).
Overall, this bill is considered a win for hire-for-ride companies and for consumers; it has passed by the Florida Senate with 36-1 vote. The bill is expected to be signed by the Governor in the coming weeks and would go into effect on July 1.
For more information on moving to Orlando, contact Brian Koss of Team Koss, Real Estate Agents at Keller Williams Classic in Orlando at 248-854-5932 or Brian@TeamKoss.com. Please follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.